Merkle Gamification

Trading seasons, points, missions, loot boxes, items and much more

Trading Seasons

Starting from V2 launch, we're rolling out trading seasons. Each season lasts 2 weeks. During the season users can engage in trading activity collecting XP, loot boxes and pMKL tokens. At end of each season pMKL tokens are converted to MKL and user levels undergo a soft-reset.

pMKL is dropped on every trade in proportional to the volume of the trade and the fee rate for the pair.

pMKL dropped = vol × avg fee ratepair× (item modifiers)×5pMKL\ dropped\ =\ vol\ \times\ avg\ fee\ rate_{pair} \times\ (item\ modifiers) \times 5
  • Season duration is 2 weeks

  • A pre-detemined amount of MKL is allocated for each season reducing with every season.

  • pMKL-MKL conversion rate is determined by the amount of pMKL mined throughout the season.

XP and MP points, User Levels

When trading on Merkle Trade the user obtains XP points based on the trade volume and the fees incurred. XP is calculated for every trade and its level is updated automatically.

XP points serve as a base for increasing your account level. When that happens the user also gets a loot box.

The higher the level of the account the more XP is required for the next one.

In order to make it easier for people but also keep this competitive all levels undergo a soft reset (20% reduction of the level) at the beginning of each trading season.

TierLevel rangeXP required to lvl upCumulative XP required


81 - ....



















Merkle Missions & MP points

Apart from receiving XP, users can also perform various trading missions. Each mission has up to 5 levels based on the difficulty of the mission. Depending on the type of the mission and its difficulty users get a certain amount of MP points.

  • Certain amount of MP points unlocks additional Loot boxes.

  • Missions and MP points are refreshed weekly on Tuesday 12am UTC

  • A total of 5 additional Loot boxes can be received through missions and MP points.

<screenshot of missions and loot boxes>

Loot Boxes and Items

Every time the user levels up they obtain a loot box corresponding to the level that they have. Loot boxes may contain various Merkle Gears and/or Shards.

Right now there are five types of loot boxes that can be obtained on Merkle Trade: common, uncommon, rare, epic, legendary (see table below)


Shards are an essential material that is required for Gear repairs and forging. Additionally, Shards can also be obtained from salvaging (breaking) unnecessary Merkle Gear.

Merkle Gear

Items discovered within loot boxes are referred to as gears, classified into three distinct types. Each gear type is tailored to enhance a particular facet of activity on Merkle Trade, amplifying specific aspects within the platform.

Gear types and their Effects*

  • Mining Tool: pMKL reward boost +x%

  • Helmet: XP earn +x%

  • Suit: Trading fee discount by x%

*Gear Effects could be changed in the future upon teams discretion or based on the governance decision.

Gears can be soulbound (non-transferable) or non-soulbound. Soulbound items are usually the ones minted for special occasions/contests.

Here’s what the user can do with Merkle Gears:

  • Equip/unequip

  • Salvage

  • Forge

  • Repaire

  • Sell/Exchange

Durability and Repairs

  • Every item comes with a maximum durability of 100

  • When equipped, an item's durability decreases steadily at a rate of [100/21] points per day (21 days before it loses all its durability points)

  • An item will lose [10] points of its durability when it's unequipped.

  • This rule is in place to prevent the exploit of equipping and unequipping items right before and after trading.

  • Items can be repaired with Merkle Shards

  • Every item’s effects last for 6 seasons after that they become ineffective automatically


Salvaging is basically breaking gear into shards.

See the table for details on the quantity of shards contained within each gear tier


Forging is the process of combining two different gears in order to get improved Effects of the resulting Gear.

  • Only gears of the same tier can be forged

  • The gear durability must be at 100 when forging

  • Forging gear uses Shards

  • Forging a gear that is approaching it expiry with another one restarts the expiration process (e.g. if during season 6 you forge gear from season 1 and the other one from season 2, you get a season 6 gear item)

Last updated